Faculty Learning Community Projects

Open-theme faculty learning communities are designed to bring together small groups of faculty who are interested in focusing on investigating a particular teaching and learning issue for a full academic year. The experience is intended to enhance each participant's teaching in ways that may lead to documentable changes in student learning and, when appropriate, to the production of scholarship (e.g., presentations, publications) that disseminates teaching innovations.

"It's About Engagement" faculty learning communities follow the same model as open-theme FLCs, but are funded through and themed around the "It's About Engagement" intitiative. 

The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning celebrates the work of these recent faculty learning communities:


Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Undergraduate Research

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Robert Simon

Participants: Sohyun An, Sara Evans, Cameron Greensmith, Tsai-Tien Tseng, Amy Buddie (member ex officio)

Final Report


Internships as Engagement: Comparing Student-Faculty Perceptions of the QEP

Category: It's About Engagement

Leaders: Susan Smith and Darlene Xiomara Rodriguez

Participants: Tyra Burton, Uli Ingram, Mike Serkedakis

Final Report


Building Interdisciplinary Models for Sustainable Service-Learning Projects 

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Jessica Stephenson

Participants: Margaret Pendergrass, Lara Smith-Sitton, Tanja Link, Seneca Vaught, Mack Curry

Final Report




It’s About Engagement: Navigating Course-Based Undergraduate Research Experiences During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Cameron Greensmith

Participants: Tsai-Tien Tseng, Joy Li, Yan Huang, Sara Evans, Robert Simon, Amy Buddie (unfunded)

Final Report

An additional manuscript by Greensmith and Evans is in progress.


Growing Student Engagement:  The KSU Food Forest as a Site for Service Learning, Student Internships, and Undergraduate Research

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Jason Rhodes

Participants: Brian R. Lawler, Vanessa Slinger-Friedman, Amy Gruss, Uli Ingram, Tiffini Jones

Final Report


A Proposal for the Improvement of Collaboration Among Co-Op and Internship Students

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Dawn Tatum

Participants: Austin Asgill, Cyril Okhio, Susan VandeVen, Zhigang Li

Final Report


Project-Based Learning in the Language Classroom

Category: Open-Theme

Leaders: Alan Watts and Renata Creekmur

Participants: Karen Graf, Akiko Davis, Luc Guglielmi, Zaya Rustamova, Ana Rodriguez Padial, Andrea Scapolo (unfunded)

Final Report


Teaching and Learning with a "Sticky" Curriculum: Art and Design Pedagogy in Higher Education

Category: Open-Theme

Leader: Diana Gregory

Participants: Craig Brasco, Valerie Dibble, Jessica Stephenson, Page Burch, Sandee Chamberlain, April Munson

Final Report



Enhancing Engineering Students’ Troubleshooting Skill

Category: Open-Theme

Leader: Bill Diong

Participants: Craig Chin, Sandip Das, Ayse Tekes, Walter Thain

Diong, B. M., & Chin, C. A., & Das, S., & Tekes, A., & Thain, W. (2021, July), Enhancing Engineering Students’ Troubleshooting Skills Paper presented at 2021 ASEE Virtual Annual Conference Content Access, Virtual Conference. https://peer.asee.org/37083

White Paper


Faculty Learning Community on Undergraduate Research 

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Sara Evans

Participants: Yuri Feito, Rongkai Guo, Tsai-Tien Tseng, Jennifer Willard, Ayse Tekes, Jeffrey Yunek, Evelina Sterling (Ex Officio), Amy Buddie (Ex Officio) 

 White Paper


SPCEET Service Learning Faculty Learning Community

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Christina Scherrer

Participants: Adam Kaplan, Adeel Khalid, Lori Lowder, Roneisha Worthy, Tom Yanuzzi (Ex-Officio)

 White Paper


Faculty Learning Community on Internships and Co-Ops

Category: It's About Engagement

Leader: Lara Smith-Sitton

Participants: Jennifer Dickey, Dan Niederjohn, Cyril Okhio, Sabine Smith, Dawn Tatum

White Paper



Engaging in Undergraduate Research: A Cross‐Disciplinary Effort to Improve Faculty and Student Experiences

Leader: Evelina Sterling

Participants: Jennifer Willard, Rongkai Guo, Yuri Feito, Tsai-Tien Tseng, Angela Farr Shilling, Sarah Holmes, and Amy Buddie (ex-officio)

White Paper

Teaching Sustainability Across Colleges: Designing and Innovative Certificate for All Students

Leader: Beth Giddens

Participants: Ed Akins, David Glassmeyer, Amy Gruss, Maria Kalamas Hedden, Vanessa Slinger-Friedman, and Matt Weand

Journal Article

Teaching from a Third Space: Experiences of International Faculty

Leader: Nyasha GuramatunhuCooper

Participants: Darlene Rodriguez, Sabine Smith, Luc Guglielmi, Uttam Kokil, Zaya Rustamova, and Pinder Naidu

White Paper

Social Justice in the Language Classroom

Leader: Karen Graf

Participants: Robert Simon, Federica Santini, Jaime Cruz-Ortiz, Neysa Figueroa, Allison Webb, Renata Creekmur, and Alan Watts