KSU Faculty Awards

KSU is incredibly proud of its faculty and their accomplishments. Many of our faculty boast national and international recognition for their leadership and innovation in their teaching, scholarship and creative activity, and other professional endeavors. Thanks to our robust faculty recognition program, we have historically recognized our faculty with awards in several categories.

Academic Affairs is pleased to announce the 2023-2024 KSU Faculty Awards, managed by the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning.

Our rigorous selection process involves an initial selection at the college level, culminating with each Dean nominating their outstanding candidates. University wide committees with faculty representation from each college then review the finalists’ nominations and select the winners.


August 17, 2023: Call for nominations opens.

February 1, 2024 at 5:00 pm: Deadline for Deans or designees to submit nominations.

March 2024: Selection committees review nominations and make recommendations for winners and finalists where applicable.

April 2024: Announcement

April 23, 2024, 12 - 1:30 pm: Award Ceremony


Congratulations to the 2022-2023 KSU Faculty Award Recipients

  • Award
  • Distinguished Professor Award
    Ming Chen, Department of Theatre and Performance Studies
  • Outstanding Teaching Award
    Karolin Mirzakhan, Department of History and Philosophy
  • Outstanding Teaching Award
    Anne White, WellStar School of Nursing
  • Outstanding Online Teaching Award
    Yi Jin, School of Instructional Technology & Innovation
  • Outstanding Part-time Teaching Award
    Susanne Estrella, Department of World Languages and Cultures
  • Outstanding Professional Service and Community Engagement Award
    Darina Lepadatu, Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
  • Outstanding Scholarship and Creative Activity Award
    Ramazan Savaş Aygün, Department of Computer Science & School of Data Science and Analytics
  • Outstanding Scholarship and Creative Activity Award
    Melih Madanoglu, Michael A. Leven School of Management, Entrepreneurship, and Hospitality
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award
    Nicolas Douguet, Department of Physics
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award
    Brian A. Moore, Department of Psychological Science
  • Madhuri and Jagdish N. Sheth Faculty Award for Distinguished International Achievement
    Susan Kirkpatrick Smith, Department of Geography and Anthropology
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award
    Chinasa Elue, Department of Educational Leadership
Past Winners