KSU Faculty Awards

KSU is incredibly proud of its faculty and their accomplishment. Many of our faculty boast national and international recognition for their leadership and innovation in their teaching, research and creative activity, and other professional endeavors. Thanks to our robust faculty recognition program, we have historically recognized our faculty with awards in several categories.

This year, Provost Schwaig convened a faculty task force to examine the existing awards portfolio and to make recommendations to ensure it continues to evolve in tandem with the university mission. The task force suggested modifications to the awards portfolio and tweaks to the application process in order to simplify it for faculty. Moving from those recommendations and adjusting them with other university priorities, Academic Affairs is pleased to announce the 2019-2020 KSU Faculty Awards, managed by the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning.

Our rigorous selection process involves an initial selection at the college level, culminating with each Dean nominating their outstanding candidates. University wide committees with faculty representation from each college then review the finalists’ nominations and select the winners.


January 6, 2020: Call for nominations opens.

February 28, 2020 at 11:59 pm: Deadline for Deans or designees to submit nominations.

March 2020: Selection committees review nominations and make recommendations for winners and finalists where applicable.

April 29, 2020: Award ceremony


Congratulations to the 2019-2020 KSU Faculty Award Recipients

  • Distinguished Professor Award
    Nikolaos Kidonakis, Department of Physics
  • Outstanding Teaching Award
    Sohyun An, Department of Elementary and Early Childhood Education
  • Outstanding Teaching Award
    Charles Parrott, Department of Theatre and Performance Studies
  • Outstanding Online Teaching Award
    Ana-Maria Croicu, Department of Mathematics
  • Outstanding Part-time Teaching Award
    Vijay Goyal, Department of Mechanical Engineering
  • Outstanding Professional Service and Community Engagement Award
    Jennifer Dickey, Department of History and Philosophy
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award
    Iván Jorrín Abellán, Department of Secondary and Middle Grades Education
  • Outstanding Research and Creative Activity Award
    Yusun Chang, Department of Electrical Engineering
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award
    David Buckman, Department of Educational Leadership
  • Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award
    Meng Han, Department of Information Technology
  • Madhuri and Jagdish N. Sheth Faculty Award for Distinguished International Achievement
    Katya Vladimirov, Department of History and Philosophy
  • Diversity and Inclusion Award
    Kenneth Williamson, Department of Geography and Anthropology and Department of Interdiscplinary Studies